The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer in the County.  The Sheriff is an elected official serving a four year term.  The Sheriff's Office provides policing services to 16 townships, the cities of Mahnomen, Bejou and Waubun, and the Village of Naytahwaush, covering 576 miles.  
Staff consists of the Sheriff, 1 Chief Deputy, 1 Narcotics Investigator, 1 General Investigator, 2 School Resources Officers, 6 Patrol Deputies, 1 Courtroom Security/Civil Process Deputy, 4 part-time Deputies, 1 Jail Administrator, 1 TAC (Terminal Agency Coordinator), 5 Dispatcher/Jailers, 1 Part-Time Dispatcher/Jailer, 1 Administrative Assistant, and numerous civilian Transport Officers.
The Mahnomen County Sheriff's Office is actively participating in the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources ATV/OHV, Boat and Water and Snowmobile Safety Grant Programs.  The Sheriff's Office is also the current recipient of the 2019 Federal Boat and Water Grant.